Passport Office Telephone

Passports are needed when traveling to different countries. If this is your first time applying for a passport, you can visit for guidance. Alternately, you can telephone them at the Passport Office contact number of 0300 222 0000 or +44 (0)300 222 0000 if calling from outside the United Kingdom.

There are many exciting travel destinations that your passport can take you. Please be advised there may be countries where a visa may be required before entering the country. Some countries also may require a payment for a visa upon arrival. Egypt, Madagascar, Nepal, Tanzania, Cambodia, and Laos are some of the countries that require visa payment upon arrival.

Countries like the United States, Canada, Mexico and, others will not require a payment for a visa to enter their countries. Brazil, Argentina, Trinidad and Tobago, and Columbia also allow Britons to enter. These countries will issue a tourist visa upon arrival, free of charge.

At the time this article was written, there are 47 countries that require Britons to apply and or pay for a visa before arriving. These countries are Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Australia (e-visa), Azerbaijan (e-visa), Benin (e-visa), Bhutan, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Cuba, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon (e-visa), Ghana, Guinea, India (e-visa), Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast (e-visa), Kenya (e-visa), Kuwait (e-visa), Liberia, Libya, Mali, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Pakistan, Republic of the Congo, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka (e-visa), Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan (e-visa), Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Yemen.

You might have noticed that some countries listed above show e-visa in parenthesis. An e-visa is an electronic visa that you apply for in a country’s visa website. “What is the difference between an e-visa versus a traditional visa?” You ask. The purpose is the same, to gain entry. The only difference between them is that an e-visa allows you to apply for a visa online using the internet. The countries listed above showing e-visa in parenthesis requires Britons to apply for a visa online (e-visa) before arriving in their country. Some countries may ask for payment for their tourist visas. General visa information mentioned above is under the assumption that you will be traveling by air. When traveling by any other mode of transportation, there may be different requirements for entry.

Britons enjoy free movement to Spain, France, Italy, and Greece. Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein adds to the list of countries that allows Britons to enjoy free movement.

Whether you are visiting a country that requires you to apply for a tourist visa before arriving or not, always remember to not overstay your visit. Generally, tourists are only allowed to visit a country for a fixed duration. Some countries allow 15 to 30 days while other countries allow up to 90 days. Speak with the immigration authority to clarify the duration. You may also find this information when the immigration officer of a country stamps it into your passport. For e-visas, all the pertinent information will be included on your print out.